Faith

These past couple days, I’ve been thinking a lot about faith. Since Ben and I found out about our sweet little baby, faith has been on my mind. When anyone thinks about faith, no matter if you are religious or not, it’s a belief that something is going to happen in your benefit no matter the odds.
There is a movie called Charly. This movie is known in the Mormon culture to be the saddest movie of all time. Seriously, its super sad and makes you cry every time. Its about this guy, Sam, and he is a Mormon boy, the stereotype, grew up in Utah, served a mission, does all the typical things Mormons get made fun of. And a girl named Charly who is not Mormon, and doesn’t know anything about the culture, she is a free spirit, does whatever she wants, they are complete opposites. Obviously they fall in love, and Charly is baptized into the church and they start a little family together. They go through all this heartache to get married, and when they finally get married and have a baby, then BAM, she gets cancer. What the heck? Anyway, she gets cancer and the whole time Sam (her husband) says over and over again; “we need to have faith”, “I have faith that you are going to survive.” He is so determined that she will live, no matter the odds. Well, SPOILER ALERT, she dies. So, what’s up with that? Didn’t he have faith?

In order to help with my study of faith, I went on lds.org to find more answers, and everything I could find led straight to Jesus Christ. When I started my search to understand faith more, I had a fixed mindset of what I wanted to find, and I didn’t expect it to be as simple as Jesus Christ. It seems that in order to have faith, we must also have faith not only in those outcomes that we seek, but also in the Lord, Jesus Christ. Which, I would consider Christ to be the most faithful person ever because he was the only perfect person to ever walk this earth, he still had bad things happen to him and still questioned God. In both Matthew 27:46 and Mark 15:34 it says; “And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice saying, Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani? which is, being interpreted, My God, my God, why hast though forsaken me?”

For those who are not Mormon, but are somewhat familiar with the Mormon church, you probably know about Joseph Smith. Joseph Smith is one of our (meaning everyone not just Mormons) prophets of God, he translated the Book of Mormon which we have today (if you want to know more about Joseph Smith I recommend going to this link: https://www.lds.org/topics/joseph-smith/testimony?lang=eng because if you just type Joseph Smith into Google, you’re gonna get some weird stuff). Anyway, Joseph was someone of great faith, there are many different stories of the trials that he went through, and how much he believed in God and Jesus Christ. But even he asked God also, “O, God, where art thou?” In D&C 121 we read when Joseph was in Liberty Jail, he pleads with God when he felt oh so alone. And I know each and every one of us has been in that position, probably multiple times, when we question and ask “God, where are you?”
God answers Joseph, saying; “My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment;And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes.”

When I read this scripture, the first thing I thought of was that faith is not about temporary things, or things of this world. Faith goes a lot deeper than that, it goes beyond what this world and this life have to offer. Faith is eternal, and it is faith in knowing that this life, these trials, and these temporal things are not it. In the movie Charly, Sam had faith that his wife would live, and beat cancer, but she didn’t. It’s not about having faith that she is going to live, but having faith that he would be with her again. “…thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment.” D&C 121:7. And when we connect faith with Jesus Christ, it is because he is the reason we can even have faith that there is more than just this life. Because of his atonement, we get to look forward and know with a surety that there is more than this, and WE are more than these trials, these hard times, and we can overcome.

Jeffery R. Holland states in his talk; Where Justice, Love, and Mercy Meet “That first Easter sequence of Atonement and Resurrection constitutes the most consequential moment, the most generous gift, the most excruciating pain, and the most majestic manifestation of pure love ever to be demonstrated in the history of this world. Jesus Christ, the Only Begotten Son of God, suffered, died, and rose from death in order that He could, like lightning in a summer storm, grasp us as we fall, hold us with His might, and through our obedience to His commandments, lift us to eternal life.”

If you want to read the rest of his talk here is the link: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2015/04/where-justice-love-and-mercy-meet?lang=eng#watch=video

When I heard about the chances of Will not surviving birth, the first thing that came to me was that God can do all things, and I needed to have faith that God could heal Will, and that Will would be born without any deformities or disability, and I would be able to raise him in this life. When you have a baby with a serious medical problem, where he will most likely not survive people tell you all these stories of miracle babies that survive, or they say they have faith that Will is going to live. But, the more I depend on that, the more I expect it to happen, and what if it doesn’t? I don’t think Heavenly Father would send his Son to die and atone for us if everything in this life as supposed to work out. I think God allowed Christ to go through the worst possible pain, sadness, and suffering because God knows this world is not perfect. Things happen, bad things happen, and the fact that we can have faith that this isn’t the end means a lot more to me now.

John 3:16 ; “16 ¶For God so loved the world, that he gave his onlybegotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Everlasting, meaning eternal, meaning forever, meaning not just this life, but the life to come.

f89045c13221ff51ca0216a00a81e83f

 

 

3 thoughts on “Faith

  1. Alyssa thank you SO much for sharing your strength and testimony. You have brought so much peace to my soul. I’ve been struggling so bad with postpartum depression piled on top of the regular stresses of life, but reading/feeling of your faith gives me the boost that I need to make it through the day. You are one amazing woman and you will touch the lives of many. While I can’t feel 1/millionth of the pain you feel I pray for you and your family often. If you ever need anything I’m here for you. I know I can’t do much, but if you ever need a break from cooking you know who to call!

    Like

    1. Jo, if you ever need to get out of the house or you need someone to be with please let me know. You are so fun and I love being around you and Noah. Seriously, Rexburg is awful in the winter time let me know if you need anything and i’ll do the same to you. You can get through this! love ya.

      Like

  2. Hey Alyssa!
    I love your blog! I can feel your strength and sweet spirit through your testimony. I too have thought and questioned my faith especially when I went through a miscarriage. It was one of the hardest trials of my life and at times I think of how my life would be if my baby stayed with us and then I get angry then sad then peace comes. But then like you I’m strengthened and reminded that our Savior wants us to have joy and will never leave us comfortless. All that is unfair will be made right but it is required of us to have faith. I found this quote in an article of Ensign a few years ago and I believe it rings a lot of truth:
    “you either live in hope or you live in despair. Without hope, you cannot endure to the end”. You guys are on our prayers everyday! Thanks for your strength and testimony.

    Like

Leave a Reply

