Gratitude in all Things

It’s super easy to think life is grand and wonderful when everything is going your way, but what about the days when everything isn’t okay? It’s super easy to focus on everything that goes wrong, and be negative. It takes a lot more to be positive, and notice those blessings in our lives when everything is going wrong.

Sometimes, Ben and I stay up late and talk about deep stuff. Last night we were talking about the nature and personality of God. Somewhere during our talk, we expressed how small certain things may seem after we already experience them.
In high school, I was in band, and it was my life. I was obsessed with it, and all I wanted was to be the best, or to be around my friends. But now, after getting married, going to college, and becoming a mom, I realized how small those worries were. I didn’t realize that there was so much more than those things I was obsessed about, although in the moment it seemed like my whole world, it wasn’t and there was a lot more in store for me.

I feel a lot like that with Will, when I found out he was probably going to pass away, my entire world was focused on that and I couldn’t see past the sadness that had overtaken Ben and I. But, having faith doesn’t mean everything to going to go the way you want it to, having faith is knowing that there is more, this isn’t where it ends. As I realized that small truth last night, I was overcome with gratitude to my Heavenly Father for everything I have. Dieter F. Uchtdorf says in his talk; “Grateful in any Circumstance.” (This is such a great talk, I recommend everyone to read it!)

“It might sound contrary to the wisdom of the world to suggest that one who is burdened with sorrow should give thanks to God. But those who set aside the bottle of bitterness and lift instead the goblet of gratitude can find a purifying drink of healing, peace, and understanding.”

 

I think this also talks about being jealous of other’s circumstance. Ben told me last night; “It goes in a circle, we are upset because someone else has a healthy baby and we don’t. Then the people that have a healthy baby are upset that they don’t have enough money but their neighbors do. And then those neighbors are upset because they are struggling in their marriage but another couple has a great marriage, and it continues on like that.” We can’t be jealous of each other, or treat others badly because you feel you have it worse than them. It makes us bitter, more upset, and we only focus on the negative things about our lives instead of finding the blessings. I know for myself that when I depend on the Lord, and focus on being grateful instead of bitter I’ve felt peace and happiness in my life.

“Could I suggest that we see gratitude as a disposition, a way of life that stands independent of our current situation? In other words, I’m suggesting that instead of being thankful for things, we focus on being thankful in our circumstances—whatever they may be…This type of gratitude transcends whatever is happening around us. It surpasses disappointment, discouragement, and despair. It blooms just as beautifully in the icy landscape of winter as it does in the pleasant warmth of summer. When we are grateful to God in our circumstances, we can experience gentle peace in the midst of tribulation. In grief, we can still lift up our hearts in praise. In pain, we can glory in Christ’s Atonement. In the cold of bitter sorrow, we can experience the closeness and warmth of heaven’s embrace.”

Even when everything is going our way, we should still be grateful, and have an attitude of gratefulness. And I also think that it means we are kind to others, respectful, and loving no matter our circumstance. I think being grateful even when everything is going our way, and having that same gratitude even when it seems the end is no where in sight, will lead us toward our goal to eternal life, to be with our family forever, and ultimately be with our Heavenly Father again.

grateful

Leave a Reply

