“ye have done it unto me.”

40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

Matthew 25:40

Tuesday, September 20 William’s plastic surgeon decided last minute that we wanted to operate and close Will’s head. This was a last minute operation and we were not prepared. We knew it had to happen, and we knew it was a good decision so we went forward with it anyway. Ben was nervous because he couldn’t take work off, he didn’t want me to be left alone as William’s surgery was taking place. I asked my visiting teacher that day if she would sit with me during Will’s surgery. She sat with me from 2:30 pm until 9:30 pm. Ben and I stayed the night at the hospital, and we were brought clean clothes the next morning by my visiting teacher’s husband on his way to work. Ben and I spend countless hours at the hospital with Will, and we are worried about who would take care of our dog; my visiting teacher said to me; “Take care of your baby, I can take care of your dog.” She has five children who all have medical needs and she has them come to our house and take blue on walks, they feed him and play with him so Ben and I can be at the hospital with our baby. In our ward there are people bringing us dinner while we are at the hospital, we always come home with food in our fridge. Some of them don’t even know us.

I cannot express the importance of service. Service is when we act as the Lord’s hands, when he is able to act through us to show someone how much they are loved and cared for. I have had the privilege my entire life to serve others and have others serve me. It is a witness of the love of Christ. I have had people sit with me during surgery, drive me to the hospital when I didn’t have a ride. Watch our dog while we were away, bring us food, do our dishes. The people that have made the most impact on Ben and I’s life through service were the people who didn’t think about what they were going to do, who didn’t say “you can always come over if you want.” or “let me know if I can help.” No, it was the people that did something. The people who did our dishes without us knowing, put food in our fridge when they didn’t know who we are. Who said; “go to the hospital and be with Will, I will take your dog.” Who offered to watch William so Ben and I could go to the temple. Just serve.

If you have the thought come into your head to do something, do it. Don’t make excuses because chances are its the spirit trying to have you act as the Lord’s hands. We find excuses for ourselves; “I live too far away.” or “I have children of my own,” or “well, they wouldn’t like that anyway.” The adversary will tempt us to not serve others, and we must not allow him to win. We need to act as the Lord’s hands, when we feel a prompting to call someone, bring someone flowers, watch someone’s baby, do someone’s dishes, clean someones house or whatever it may be you are doing it with the Lord right beside you. You serving someone is the Lord telling, and showing that person that he is aware of them, He loves them, and He is there. Many times I have had the opportunity to serve others and it is a blessing to see the spirit present, you realize pretty quickly while your serving that it’s not about you. When you see the gratitude and happiness in someone’s eyes when you give them a blessing, or your bring them lunch, or you sit and talk with them, that they feel the love that Christ has for them. Christ is saying; “I am here, I am aware of you, I love you.” through your acts of service.

After William’s first surgery on September 15, he had problems breathing. There were three times when William turned blue, and a nurse needed to put a breathing mask over his face and give him breaths. That night Ben and I stayed at the hospital because we were too stressed to leave, we were in the Pediatric ICU hoping that he would recover. A representative from the branch came late that night (around 11pm) to assist Ben in a blessing. In that moment I was overwhelmed with the love that my Savior not only felt for my son, but for me. I have always felt everything was about Will, and it always has been. Very little times have people asked me how I was doing, how Ben was doing, or given us a break and we didn’t think about it because we were so focused on Will. But that night, I felt a very personal love, a love for me. All because someone took 30 minutes away from their home to come bless my son. Someone took time away from their personal lives, their dinner, their family, and decided to help Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ show me how much I was loved, how much I was watched over, and how my family was watched over.

So, when you are sitting at 11pm at night with your family and you have the feeling to visit  sister in your ward, make a little extra dinner for a family member, or send a message to let someone know they are being thought of, know that the spirit is directing you and working through you. Jesus Christ loves each and every one of us more than we can comprehend. If we want to become like him, we must also live a life similar to the one he did, which was full of selfless service and sacrifice for others.

If you come upon a person who is drowning, would you ask if they need help—or would it be better to just jump in and save them from the deepening waters? The offer, while well meaning and often given, “Let me know if I can help” is really no help at all.

Elder Rasband

 

