The Family: A Proclamation to The World. (FAML 100 Project Topic #1)

I will be posting blog posts about every week (on Fridays) to discuss different issues with the family. The main text I will be using is Successful Marriages and Families: Proclamation Principles and Research Perspectives by Alan J. Hawkins. I will also be using General Conference talks, personal experience and most importantly, scriptures! I hope you enjoy the next couple weeks as I discuss marriage and family!

My first topic I want to write about is The Family Proclamation. This was given at a General Women’s meeting in Salt Lake City by former President Gordon B. Hinckley in 1995. Although it was given at a General Women’s meeting, it is important to point out that this was titled “A Proclamation to The World“. Not just to active, LDS church members but to every single person in the world. I would also like to point out as well the most important principle in this Proclamation;

Each is a beloved spirit son or daughter of heavenly parents, and, as such, each has a divine nature and destiny. (The Family: A Proclamation to the World, 1995)

We must understand the importance of each and every one of us, and how beloved we are to our Heavenly Father. Because we are beloved, we each have a purpose and destiny. When we understand that principle, of God’s love for ourselves, and those around us, I think we treat people a lot more differently.

With that truth; I want to quote from the book; Successful Marriages and Families: Proclamation Principles and Research Perspectives 

From the beginning, God organized the human family and reveled that marriage and family relationships are intended to be eternal.

The love that God has for us is eternal and never ending, he loves us and wants us to return to him, to help us continue on that path to return to him, he created families and intended them to be eternal. With eternal families we are able to learn, grow, and ultimately be sealed and return back to our Father in Heaven. The truth that Families are Forever is something that Ben and I needed to understand when we were told, William would not survive birth. In one of my past blog posts titled My Testimony I shared this;

I wanted to share William’s birth story not as a “look how everything turned out so great” thing, but to express how our faith in the Lord’s plan and in Jesus Christ is not because everything turns out great and wonderful, but because its true. No matter the outcome. We must have faith even when things are really bad, even when we may not see the end or understand whats happening. I don’t think I felt peaceful before William was born because the spirit was telling me he would live, it was because during my pregnancy Ben and I made a choice to rely on the Lord, to believe in His plan, and to rely on the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

The family is so important, but it is not something that is intended to be easy. That is why our loving Heavenly Father blessed us with his only begotten son, Jesus Christ, to help us along the way to eternal life. Our journey here on earth was intended for us to grow and learn, to experience life so that we can become more like our Savior, and Heavenly Father. The Proclamation to the World states;

In the premortal realm, spirit sons and daughters knew and worshipped God as their Eternal Father and accepted His plan by which His children could obtain a physical body and gain earthly experience to progress toward perfection and ultimately realize their divine destiny as heirs of eternal life.

The Proclamation to the Family gives us a lot of guidance in such a short message. One of the biggest messages, next to God’s love for us, is how families help us to “gain earthly experience to progress toward perfection and eternal life.” I know that in my family, with my siblings and my mom, I have gained a lot of experience with them and they have helped me to progress. It has helped me to have my own family, as a wife and a mother. Family is so important in our lives, how we progress and develop. God intended families to help us and allow us to have support, love, and guidance during our lives. I believe the family to be ordained of God, and that Jesus Christ helps guide our families and helps support us through hard times.

